Related Industry Certifications

Essential Cyber Security Certifications

CompTIA A+

The A+ certification is a basic certification that demonstrates proficiency with computer hardware and operating systems (OS). It is governed by nonprofit trade association CompTIA. The A+ certification helps prove the recipient's proficiency with the use of computers and related devices.    This is a good first IT certification and can be required by some employers.

CompTIA Linux+

For most jobs involving Linux and/or UNIX, CompTIA Linux+ is the only Linux certification that you will need, as it covers the general administration tasks that most organizations seek when hiring for Linux/UNIX administration positions. Advanced topic areas not tested on Linux+ often involve specialized configuration that is specific to a particular organization and Linux distribution or UNIX flavor. Those who have a working knowledge of the general administration concepts tested on CompTIA Linux+ can easily research and perform these advanced configuration tasks as necessary.  After achieving CompTIA Linux+, you can apply for and obtain the LPIC-1 certification directly on the CompTIA website. However, you cannot do the reverse – in other words, you cannot pass LPIC-1 and request Linux+.

CompTIA Security+

CompTIA's Security+ is a well-respected, vendor-neutral security certification. Security+ credential holders are recognized as possessing superior technical skills, broad knowledge and expertise in multiple security-related disciplines.  The CompTIA Security+ credential is also approved by the U.S. Department of Defense to meet Directive 8570.01-M requirements.  Many employers especially in the government sector require a minimum of the Security +.

CompTIA Cybersecurity Analyst (CSA+)

CompTIA CSA+ is an international, vendor-neutral cybersecurity certification that applies behavioral analytics to improve the overall state of IT security. CSA+ validates critical knowledge and skills that are required to prevent, detect and combat cybersecurity threats.  CSA+ is a higher level certification than Security + and is a good next step to achieving higher level certifications such as CASP or CISSP.

CompTIA Advanced Security Practitioner (CASP)

CASP is a higher level security certification and experience is suggested.  CASP is a mastery level exam that validates advanced competency and skill in IT security.  While there is no required prerequisite, CASP certification is intended to follow CompTIA Security+ or equivalent experience and has a technical, hands-on focus at the enterprise level.  CompTIA Advanced Security Practitioner meets the ISO 17024 standard and is approved by U.S. Department of Defense to fulfill Directive 8570.01-M requirements.

LPI Linux Essentials

Linux Essentials is aimed directly at high school, college, and university students. The goal of Linux Essentials is to expose students to the Linux operating system and the concept of Open Source software. As such, it is an ideal entry-level Linux certification.

LPIC-1 (LPI Level 1 – Linux Administrator)

LPIC-1 is the first certification in LPI’s multi-level Linux professional certification program. The LPIC-1 will validate the candidate's ability to perform maintenance tasks on the command line, install and configure a computer running Linux and configure basic networking.  The LPIC-1 is designed to reflect current research and validate a candidate's proficiency in real world system administration. The objectives are tied to real-world job skills, which are determined through job task analysis surveying during exam development.

Microsoft Certified Solutions Associate (MCSA): Windows 10

Earning the MCSA: Windows 10 certification validates your skills configuring devices running Windows 10. This foundational certification proves that you have the core skills to understand Windows 10 security and integrate Azure features. It confirms your ability to: manage identity, data access and protection, remote access, apps, and updates and recovery; plan desktop and device deployment; plan and implement a Microsoft Intune device management solution; and configure networking and storage.

Cisco Certified Entry Networking Technician (CCENT)

Having your CCENT means you have what it takes to manage a small, enterprise branch network.  The CCENT certification is the first stage of Cisco's certification system. The CCENT certification is an interim step to Associate level or directly with CCNA and CCDA certifications.  The CCENT is a prerequisite for the CCNA Security examination.

Cisco Certified Network Associate Security (CCNA Security)

CCNA Security validates associate-level knowledge and skills required to secure Cisco networks. With a CCNA Security certification, a network professional demonstrates the skills required to develop a security infrastructure, recognize threats and vulnerabilities to networks, and mitigate security threats. The CCNA Security curriculum emphasizes core security technologies, the installation, troubleshooting and monitoring of network devices to maintain integrity, confidentiality and availability of data and devices, and competency in the technologies that Cisco uses in its security structure.  The CCNA Security credential is also approved by the U.S. Department of Defense to meet Directive 8570.01-M requirements.  This certification is recommended for graduates of the Cybersecurity degree.

Associate of (ISC)²

The Associate of (ISC)² allows those just starting out in the information security workforce to demonstrate their competence in the field. Associates have passed a rigorous (ISC)² certification exam, proving their cybersecurity knowledge, and maintaining their continuing professional education (CPE) requirements while working toward completing the experience requirements to become fully certified as a CISSP, SSCP, CCSP, HCISPP, CCFP, CAP or CSSLP.