TCSG and State Board

State Board of the Technical College System of Georgia

Augusta Technical College is under the governance of the State Board of the Technical College System of Georgia (State Board).  The State Board is the legal body responsible for providing overall policy for the management of Georgia's technical colleges as stated in State Board policy as well as the Official Code of Georgia Annotated (O.C.G.A.). The State Board provides overall policies for the management of the System and the individual Technical Colleges to ensure that the needs of the citizenry, business, and industry are met to the highest possible degree and in the most cost-effective and efficient manner. In accordance with Article I, Section 2 of its bylaws, the State Board consists of not less than one member from each of the 13 congressional districts and nine at-large members who are appointed by the Governor and confirmed by the Senate for five-year terms. Members represent business, industry, or economic development.

Board of Directors of Augusta Technical College

Members of the Augusta Technical College local board of directors are nominated for their positions by area industry and educational officials and approved by the State Board of the Technical College System of Georgia. The Board of Directors meets monthly to interpret the State Board policies and provide supplemental policies to ensure that the needs of the Central Savannah River Area (CSRA) are met. Responsibilities include reviewing and approving goals and objectives, short-range and long-range plans, facilities expansion, program additions and changes, and the annual budget before submission for approval by the State Board. 

  • Linda Bailey - Burke County
  • Peggy Barmore, Vice Chairman - McDuffie County
  • Patricia Goodwin -Columbia County
  • Howie Gunby - Lincoln County
  • James Heffner  - Richmond County
  • Robert C. Osborne, Jr. - Richmond County
  • Velvet Perry  - Richmond County
  • Harold Wright, Chairman - Richmond County