Augusta Technical College Logo


1961 Augusta Area Vocational-Technical School is founded
1963 Richmond Area Vocational School is formed
1966 The two schools combine to form Augusta Area Technical School
1981 The current site near Deans Bridge Road becomes the Augusta campus
1984 The first students graduate with an Associate Degree of  Applied  Technology
1985 The Automotive Mechanics Program receives the Secretary of Education’s Award of Excellence
1987 Augusta Area Technical School becomes a state school operated by the Georgia Board of Technical and Adult Education, and the name is change to Augusta Technical Institute. The Augusta Technical  Institute Foundation is formed
1988 Credit enrollment exceeds 2,000
1990 Augusta Technical Institute accepts the responsibility for the Office of Adult Literacy on Broad Street
1991 Allied Health programs move to the Augusta campus
1995 The Jack B. Patrick Information Technology Center opens. The Augusta  Technical Institute Foundation launches a major gift campaign entitled The Power  To Be, encompassing the Augusta campus and the projected Thomson/McDuffie and Waynesboro/Burke Campuses
1996 Construction is completed on the Center for Advanced Technology. The Jack B. Patrick Information Technology Center is dedicated.  Construction begins on the Thomson/McDuffie Campus.
1997 Credit enrollment exceeds 4,000. The Office of Adult Literacy moves to the Augusta campus. The Thomson/McDuffie Campus opens
2000 Classes begin at the Waynesboro/Burke campus. Augusta Technical Institute’s name changes to Augusta Technical College.

Groundbreaking for new Student Services Building on December 4, 2001


The 900 building was dedicated to Thelma “T” Ray Allgood

2003 The Student Services/Classroom Building opened.
2004 The dedication of the Student Services/Classroom Building held (April 29).
2005 Funds were appropriated for the Columbia County Center.
2006 First planned gift established with the Augusta Technical College Foundation.
2007 Groundbreaking for Columbia County Center
2008 Ribbon cutting ceremony for the Emergency Medical Services
2009 Columbia County Center building construction begins.
2010 Augusta Tech launches Nuclear Engineering Technology Program in partnership with Southern Company and Georgia Power.
2011 The Columbia County Center in Grovetown officially opens its doors to students.
2012 Augusta Technical College is named an "Achieving the Dream College".
Augusta Technical College establishes Campus Police Department.